Skip to content

A New News Director

August 8, 2010

This is my last blog entry as news director at WRNI.  For the past 11 months I have had the rare pleasure and privilege of leading a terrifically talented and generous group of journalists.  In fact, I would say they are the best journalists I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with – and I’ve been in this business for more than 30 years.  Scott Mackay, Flo Jonic, Megan Hall, Elisabeth Harrison, Ian Donnis, Bob Seay, Bob Ames and Alex Nunes; their voices are familiar to many of you, and if you have been hearing them, then you know how dedicated they are, and how valuable their work is.  For the past year, they have informed, delighted, surprised, won awards, and delighted. And  I have been proud to be associated with them.  A vibrant house of journalism is an essential element to a healthy civic society — and these journalists are what make WRNI such an important part of the Ocean State.

 So, I am moving on, returning to reporting for NPR, among other projects.  I leave Rhode Island with a sense of gratitude to all the good people of this lovely state who I have had the pleasure of meeting; to all the committed WRNI listeners who have communicated their passion so clearly and helped support WRNI , and to my reporters, who I will always regard as friends. 

WRNI’s news room will now be lead by Catherine Welch, a talented and experienced public radio journalist from North Carolina who has already earned our respect.   Welcome, Catherine!  I know that you will do well, and that you, too, will feel lucky, humble and privileged to lead this talented and committed group of journalists.

Stay tuned, and thanks for listening!

Anthony Brooks

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

